Fiji is a country of more than 330 islands. The two major islands, Viti Levu and Vanua Levu, account for 87% of the population of almost 860,000.




Of the 68 active mineral extraction sites in Fiji, 66 mine Development Minerals.


Development Minerals in Fiji


Demand for quarried materials has skyrocketed in Fiji. Natural disasters, like Severe Tropical Cyclone Winston, and a tenfold increase in road funding over the past decade, have led to surging demand and a doubling of the number of the nation's hard-rock quarries. Of the 68 active mineral extraction sites in Fiji: 43 are river gravel/sand dredging sites, 23 are quarries, and just two are for high-value minerals (1 gold and 1 bauxite).

According to the Fiji Roads Authority more than 500,000 cubic metres of stone is needed in 2016-2017 to build Fiji's roads, bridges and jetties and to protect Fiji's coasts. Of Fiji's $600m annual road budget, around $35-$40m will be spent on sourcing stone.

For small quarry and dredging businesses to succeed in Fiji, they need more than simply strong demand for their products. The sector requires support in the areas of business development, marketing, access to finance, quarry management and access to geological data.


Moreover, to ensure that the extraction of sand, gravel and stone meets high standards in the areas of environment, community, Mataqali relations, and health and safety, guidance and oversight are needed. For example, some river dredging sites in Fiji have faced the problems of river bank erosion, river turbidity (where sediment gets suspended in the water and can cause environmental and river navigation challenges), and conflicts with other river users, such as tour operators.


Training of trainers workshops

Sector assessments and capacity development roadmaps

initiatives for sector promotion

Value-chain analyses

Community dialogues to address grievances

Public and private dialogues with key stakholders

Small grants to implement return to work plans

Reviews of legal frameworks









Central Africa

  • Cameroon
  • Congo Republic
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Gabon
  • Rwanda

East Africa

  • Ethiopia
  • Kenya
  • Madagascar
  • Tanzania
  • Uganda

Southern Africa

  • Angola
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

West Africa

  • Burkina Faso
  • Benin
  • Côte d'Ivoire
  • Ghana [West Africa]
  • Guinea
  • Mali
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Sierra Leone
  • Senegal
  • Togo


  • Dominican Republic
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Jamaica
  • Suriname
  • Trinidad and Tobago


  • Fiji
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Solomon Islands
  • Tonga
  • Vanuatu
  • Samoa

Participating Countries

Forty (40) countries are participating in regional level training and knowledge exchange. Find out which ones.


[Africa]  [Caribbean]  [Pacific]


Focus Countries

Six (6) countries are undertaking in depth capacity building and country level training.

  • Uganda [East Africa]
  • Guinea [West Africa]
  • Zambia [Southern Africa]
  • Cameroon [Central Africa]
  • Jamaica [Caribbean]
  • Fiji [Pacific]