The Republic of Cameroon is both geologically and culturally diverse, with a population of around 22 million people and a land area of 475,442 square kilometres.




The Government of Cameroon requires contracting authorities to incorporate local materials in the construction of public buildings.


Development Minerals in Cameroon


Local construction materials such as gravel, sand, clay and lime as well as dimension stones are poised to play a crucial role in meeting Cameroon's housing demand and the country's transition into a middle-income economy.

The housing deficit in Cameroon is significant. The Government of Cameroon has highlighted the need to construct an estimated one million homes in the next 5-10 years to meet the housing needs of a growing population that is increasingly urbanised.

A Prime Ministerial circular of 2014 – strengthening the provisions of an earlier 2007 circular – has compelled contracting authorities to incorporate local materials in the construction of public buildings across the country.



This has led to a partnership between the Local Material Promotion Authority (MIPROMALO) and the Ministry of Public Works (MINTP) to popularize and promote the use of local materials by construction companies.

On 18 – 20 October 2016, 84 stakeholders came together in Yaoundé, Cameroon to draft a road map to support sustainability in the Development Minerals sector and to advance the implementation of the ACP-EU Development Minerals Programme in Cameroon.


Training of trainers workshops

Sector assessments and capacity development roadmaps

initiatives for sector promotion

Value-chain analyses

Community dialogues to address grievances

Public and private dialogues with key stakholders

Small grants to implement return to work plans

Reviews of legal frameworks









Central Africa

  • Cameroon
  • Congo Republic
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Gabon
  • Rwanda

East Africa

  • Ethiopia
  • Kenya
  • Madagascar
  • Tanzania
  • Uganda

Southern Africa

  • Angola
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

West Africa

  • Burkina Faso
  • Benin
  • Côte d'Ivoire
  • Ghana [West Africa]
  • Guinea
  • Mali
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Sierra Leone
  • Senegal
  • Togo


  • Dominican Republic
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Jamaica
  • Suriname
  • Trinidad and Tobago


  • Fiji
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Solomon Islands
  • Tonga
  • Vanuatu
  • Samoa

Participating Countries

Forty (40) countries are participating in regional level training and knowledge exchange. Find out which ones.


[Africa]  [Caribbean]  [Pacific]


Focus Countries

Six (6) countries are undertaking in depth capacity building and country level training.

  • Uganda [East Africa]
  • Guinea [West Africa]
  • Zambia [Southern Africa]
  • Cameroon [Central Africa]
  • Jamaica [Caribbean]
  • Fiji [Pacific]