The Republic of Guinea is situated on the Gulf of Guinea in West Africa. The country has a population of 10.5 million people and an area of 245,860 square kilometres.



Guinea-Conakry is one of the world's top bauxite producers, but it also has the potential to realise opportunities from the mining of Development Minerals.


Development Minerals in Guinea


Guinea-Conakry is one of the world's top bauxite producers, but it also has the potential to realise the opportunities of mining Development Minerals. In the past five years, the country has overcome political and economic challenges and successfully dealt with the impact of the Ebola Virus Disease. Despite the positive outlook, infrastructure challenges and the informal nature of the Development Minerals sector limit the scope of information available on the contribution of these minerals to the economy.


Quarries in areas like Dubréka and Manéah are a source of income for rural communities and have the potential, if formalised and properly managed, to meet the demands of a growing urban populace. Furthermore, there is the potential for stronger economic linkages with large-scale infrastructure projects such as the Simandou Project's rail, port and ancillary infrastructure, as well as Kaleta's multimillion dollar hydropower plant, which according to Bloomberg (2015) will almost double the West African country's energy output and supply neighboring countries such as Guinea-Bissau, Gambia and Senegal.


On the 11 - 12 of October, 2016, 73 participants from a range of stakeholder groups meet in Conakry for a National Consultation Workshop and to draft a roadmap for the implementation of the ACP-EU Development Minerals Programme in Guinea.


Training of trainers workshops

Sector assessments and capacity development roadmaps

initiatives for sector promotion

Value-chain analyses

Community dialogues to address grievances

Public and private dialogues with key stakeholders

Small grants to implement return to work plans

Reviews of legal frameworks

Training of trainers workshops









Central Africa

  • Cameroon
  • Congo Republic
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Gabon
  • Rwanda

East Africa

  • Ethiopia
  • Kenya
  • Madagascar
  • Tanzania
  • Uganda

Southern Africa

  • Angola
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

West Africa

  • Burkina Faso
  • Benin
  • Côte d'Ivoire
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Mali
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Sierra Leone
  • Senegal
  • Togo


  • Dominican Republic
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Jamaica
  • Suriname
  • Trinidad and Tobago


  • Fiji
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Solomon Islands
  • Tonga
  • Vanuatu
  • Samoa

Participating Countries

Forty (40) countries are participating in regional level training and knowledge exchange. Find out which ones.


[Africa]  [Caribbean]  [Pacific]


Focus Countries

Six (6) countries are undertaking in depth capacity building and country level training.

  • Uganda [East Africa]
  • Guinea [West Africa]
  • Zambia [Southern Africa]
  • Cameroon [Central Africa]
  • Jamaica [Caribbean]
  • Fiji [Pacific]